Between the great weather and fantastic view, Florida is the perfect place for riding a motorcycle. However, before you hit the road, you’ll need to be properly licensed. This isn’t a difficult process, but it is one that’s necessary. Proving your competence as a motorcyclist is important to help prevent Tampa motorcycle accidents.
What license do you need to operate a motorcycle in Florida?
To legally operate a motorcycle, you will either need a dedicated motorcycle license, or you will need a motorcycle endorsement on your normal driver’s license—which requires a $7 endorsement fee.
How do you receive a motorcycle endorsement?
To add a motorcycle endorsement to your regular driver’s license, you will need to meet the following requirements:
- You must be at least 16 years of age
- You must have no traffic violations (convictions only) for the previous year if you’re under 18
- You must already have a regular, Class E, license
- You must also successfully complete the Basic Rider Course
Before an endorsement is added to your Class E license, you must complete both a written and driving exam. The Florida Department of Motor Vehicles has a motorcycle handbook that is available on their website to help you prepare for these tests.
How do you receive a dedicated motorcycle license?
The process for receiving a standalone motorcycle license is more simple than adding an endorsement. You must successfully complete a written exam and the Basic Rider Course, but you won’t be tested on the basics of operating a four-wheeled motor vehicle.
What are the helmet laws in Florida?
All riders under the age of 21 are required to wear a helmet at all times—there are no exceptions to this law. If you’re over 21 and have a medical insurance policy over $10,000 you are not legally required to wear a helmet, although it is still advised. You must always have some form of eye protection (goggles, sunglasses, etc.), regardless of your age or insurance policy.