If you sustained injuries in a car accident in Florida, you may think that you need to sue the other driver in order to get compensation for medical bills and property damage. But Florida is among a small number of states with a no-fault auto insurance law. That means when a driver in Florida is injured in an auto accident, he must first seek compensation from his own auto insurance provider, regardless of which party is at fault for the accident.
All drivers in Florida must possess a minimum of $10,000 worth of personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage. The main issue with PIP insurance is that it comes with certain limitations. These policies are only required to provide coverage for 60 percent of lost wages and 80 percent of medical bills incurred up to $10,000. In order to make a claim with their insurers, accident victims must also seek treatment for their injuries within 14 days of the accident.
There are, however, some instances in which you can file a claim against the other driver. These instances include:
If you decide to sue the other driver in either of these circumstances, you will want to work with a reliable and experienced Florida car accident lawyer.
Frank Charles Miranda, P.A. represents clients injured in car crashes and other types of personal injury accidents in Florida. Call us at our Tampa office at 813-254-2637 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation today and get the representation you need.